The 2014 Fields Medalists

Greetings readers! After a long break it seems only appropriate to open with a bang. So let us all delight in the awarding of the Fields Medal, the Nevanlinna Prize, the Chern medal and other prizes at the quadrennial (i.e., once in 4 years) ICM, the International Congress of Mathematicians. This year the ICM was held in Seoul, South Korea.


You can find out more about all the awards at the ICM site, or any number of news outlets:

Especially important this year is the awarding of the Fields Medal to the remarkable Maryam Mirzakhani of Stanford, the first woman mathematician to receive this award. While there have been many extraordinary women mathematicians, the award has been given only to men so far making this recognition long overdue.

Here is some more information about this year’s award winners from the official ICM site.

The four winners this year from diverse areas are: Artur Avila (CNRS Paris), Manjul Bhargava (Princeton), Martin Hairer (Warwick, England) and Maryam Mirzakhani (Stanford).

And as a final shout out we should mention that Professor Mirzakhani is also a research collaborator of former OU faculty member, Kasra Rafi.