Math Club Tour of the National Weather Center

national_weather_centerThe Math Club is taking a field trip!  Patrick Marsh, an OU meteorology grad student, has graciously agreed to give a behind-the-scenes tour of the National Weather Center on south campus.  The tour will be on

Wednesday, April 22nd, at 4 pm.

You should expect a fascinating look at both at how the National Weather Service currently predicts the weather and the research their doing to improve their predictions.   Patrick got his undergraduate degree in math and physics before coming to OU to study meteorology so you can bet that he’ll have lots to say about how math is used by folks at the NWC.  In any case it should be lots of fun!

As always, we’ll have pizza.    This time we’ll be having it in the NWC atrium right after the tour.

Since the NWC is a government agency and is a little distance from the main part of campus, please note the following:

  1. We will meet in PHSC at 3:30 pm and carpool down to the Weather Center.  If you would like to meet us there, then please don’t be late!  The tour starts promptly at 4 pm!
  2. If you are a citizen of a country other than the US (including dual citizens), then you need to fill out one of these forms and return it to Jon Kujawa in PHSC 1119 by this Thursday, April 9th at 4 pm (you can slide it under his office door if he isn’t there). If you don’t get the form in on time, you can still come on the tour but you will only be allowed to see the non-secure parts of the facility.
  3. As mentioned above, we’ll have pizza at the NWC after the tour.  After that we’ll carpool back up to PHSC.

The flyer announcing the tour can be found here.

If you live in the red area, then you might want to go on the NWC tour!

If you live in the red area, then you might want to go on the NWC tour.

11 thoughts on “Math Club Tour of the National Weather Center

  1. That sounds like a lot of fun. I’d like to go, but I have class until 4:30.

  2. I will be there! Can’t wait! I’ve heard amazing things about the weather center and can’t wait to get to tell other people about everything I’ll get to see.

  3. I would really like to go!! It sounds awesome. Unfortunately, I have class at that time.

    • Unfortunately, if we want to see the Weather Center when everything is up and running, it’s best to go before 5. But if you stop by at 5, I bet you can catch us in the Atrium having pizza and join us for a slice!

  4. I have to observe at Noble middle school until 3:30, so hopefully I can make it! Ever since I came to OU four years ago, I have REALLY wanted to tour this center! I’ll try my best to make it!

  5. I’ll try to stop by at 5! But the staff art show is at the same time and I have an entry. So maybe.

  6. I am glad that math club is doing this. I drive by the National Weather Center a lot and have always wanted to go in and see what it was like. It is a very good idea to have a tour done by someone who is involved there. Also it is cool that Patrick got one of his undergraduate degrees in math, like me!

Comments are closed.