The February POM

Don't forget the POMs!

Don't forget the POMs!

Starting right now the OU math department is sponsoring a Problem of the Month (POM).  You can find the latest POM in the display case on the 2nd floor of PHSC next to the elevator.  The rules are pretty simple:  anyone can work on the problem and submit a solution (but only OU undergrads are eligible for prizes). You can work alone or in groups.  You have to submit your solution to the math office (PHSC 423) by the close of business on the last day of the month (so February 27th, 2009 at 5pm, this month).  Prizes will be awarded for the most correct and well explained solution.

As the name suggests, there will be a new POM each month of the term.  Keep an eye out for the new POM at the beginning of each month.  Good Luck!

If you’re interested in downloading a copy for yourself, you can find the February POM here.

8 thoughts on “The February POM

  1. I’m not sure if I will have time to do the POM, but it seem very interesting and worth trying. Also, I notice that the post didn’t say where the math office is. Would anyone post the location of the math office (for people like me who don’t where it is)? Thanks.

  2. Napat,

    Thanks for pointing out that omission. We’ve added the Math department office location to the post.

  3. Very nice! The math department at my high school did something similar to this . . . I”ll have to check out the POM sometime.

  4. Man I wonder what the prizes will be! Also what the focus of the problems will be. Could be a fun side project.

  5. Sounds good! I’ve been seeing the old problem in the display in the Physical Sciences Center for months now, and wondering if the problems would ever come back…

    Also not sure if I’ll be able to do the problem, or have time, but I will definitely check it out!

  6. Haha that was a very fun problem. I already turned mine in, but keep it up with good problems!

Comments are closed.