Math and the FBI

fbiseal

P.S.  If you would like a copy of the brochure left by Special Agent Rains or if you have questions and would like his contact information, then please contact Jon Kujawa of the OU math dept.

The Federal Bureau of Investigation will be coming to OU for a joint Math Club/Graduate Seminar talk this

Wednesday, February 11th, 2009 at 5pm in PHSC 1105.

They will be talking about how they use math in their work, and about the job opportunities that they have for both undergraduate and graduate students with a strong math background.  It should be a very interesting talk and will give you the chance to think about some jobs outside the usual box of teacher/actuary/computer programmer.

If you’d like to see what sorts of jobs you can do with the FBI, check out their career page here.  They say they have thousands of available positions from Special Agent to Linguist to Woodcrafter.

Or, if you’d like to check out the FBI’s files on: Lucille Ball, Albert Einstein, Elvis Presley, or Roswell, NM, then check out their Freedom of Information Page.

If you would like the flyer for this week’s Math Club meeting, you can find it here.

movie_xfiles

8 thoughts on “Math and the FBI

  1. It doesn’t surprise me that math can be useful in so many different job areas. I’m actually minoring math because I believe it will expand my opportunities as well as help with critical think which is used in so many jobs.

  2. I did an internship with the FBI last summer, and there are a lot of fields for math and science majors. My primary placement was for my science major, but I got to spend a day with the cryptography unit too. The Lab at Quantico is awesome. If you have any interest in the internship, let me know and I can let you know my experiences.

  3. Pingback: Careers with the CIA « OU Math Club

  4. I really wish I could have attended this meeting! It would have helped sooo much with my studies! Hey Amanda, could you email me please? You would be the perfect person for me to interview for my extremely long essay!

    Thanks,
    -Joanna

  5. Pingback: Job Opportunity With the Feds « OU Math Club

Comments are closed.