Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

Yes folks, there is a study-abroad program in mathematics.  The Budapest Semesters in Mathematics is a stellar opportunity to experience a new culture while also learning mathematics from top-notch instructors.  The courses are taught in English, but in a Hungarian style.  For example, you start the semester sitting in on all the courses, and then decide in the first few weeks which ones to keep.

Everyone I’ve known to participate in this program has raved about it.  Budapest is a beautiful historic city, and its universities have a long tradition of mathematical excellence.  Students in the Budapest program form tight bonds while helping and challenging each other to understand more and more mathematics.  (If you would like to be put in email contact with a student who has been to the program, just let me know.)

You can apply to attend BSM any semester in which you are a junior or senior.  The application deadline for Spring 2009 is November 1, 2008 (coming up soon) and the deadline for Fall 2009 is April 30, 2009.  The website also mentions that you should allow at least 2 months to get a visa.

4 thoughts on “Budapest Semesters in Mathematics

  1. I second the recommendation! I did BSM way back in the last century and had a great time. Budapest is a great city to live in, and I learned lots of math that I wouldn’t have in my classes at home. It had a big influence on my decision to go to graduate school. Also, I met lots of people from all around the country. Some of whom I still am in contact with.

    You are welcome to ask me about it, but I’m sure the person Keri Kornelson knows did BSM much more recently and can give you better info about the program.

  2. Sounds like a fun way to learn mathematics, some history, and visit a great city all at the same time.

  3. Kujawa, speaking of graduate school, what does it take to get in to a school around the level of OU? GRE scores, grades, etc.

    Thanks,

    Glick

  4. Justin,

    The answer to your question, it’s hard to say. At most schools (including OU) there is a graduate committee and they consider grades, GRE scores, letters of recommendation, and the rest of your application. There isn’t any automatic cutoffs which decide if you are in or out. It’s the combination of all factors. Also, each year the department has only so many available slots for TAs, so it also would depend on how many other people have applied and how you compare to them.

    The best advice I can give is for you to discuss it with several professors who know your background and they can probably suggest a range of schools you are most likely a good fit for.

    What I did and what most people do is apply to a number of different schools in a range between “only if I”m lucky will they accept me” to “I’m pretty much certain I’ll get in there”. Your math professors can help you figure out which schools you’re interested in fit in this range for you.

Comments are closed.